A Fascinating History of Discovery
In 1965 Borde Hill Garden became a registered charity and opened its gates to the public for the first time. Our registered charity number is 246589.
Borde Hill House was built by Sir Stephen Borde whose
Purchased by Walter Gatland with 200 acres for £2,382.
Purchased by Mr Randle for £4,700.
Purchased by Preston family who added the central portion of the
House passed to a Major MacAdam via his wife, Miss Preston.
Purchased by the Cunliffe Lister family.
Purchased by Col. Stephenson Robert Clarke who built the East Wing,
South Lawn and Ha-Ha created.
The Clarke family were patrons of some of the great
Azalea Ring planted with Knapp Hill varieties.
Warren Wood planted.
Stephanie’s Glade planted.
Garden of Allah extended with plants from the collector Kingdon
Expansion of the collection to the outlying woods (e.g. Gores
Sir Ralph & Lady Clarke take up residence as Stephenson
Garden opens to the public as a registered charity.
Sir Ralph Clarke died and was succeeded by his son
The storm of October 1987 caused extensive damage to the
Victorian Stable Block converted into Restaurant & Tea Rooms and
Borde Hill Garden Restoration Study – Lear Associates/Land Use Consultants.
Adventure playground created.
Rose garden recreated based on the 1902 designs shown in
Heritage Lottery Fund donation for restoring the Victorian Greenhouses and
Harvey Stephens is appointed head gardener.
The Potting Sheds are refurbished and given a ‘Southern Hemisphere’ theme.
New plantings in The Italian Garden to redefine its Mediterranean
40th Anniversary of the opening to the public of Borde
Mid Summer Border planted to a design by Dr Tony
Paradise Walk re-planted to a new design by James Alexander-Sinclair.
50th anniversary of the Garden opening to the public as
Installation of the ‘Infinity Box’ in the Long Dell, designed
125th anniversary of the purchase of Borde Hill by Col.